A female high school student was hit and killed by a driver while walking on the sidewalk near Mission Hills High School. The senior was hit by a black BMW which was reportedly driven by another teen. The vehicle was traveling west on East Mission Road in San Marcos when it struck the pedestrian. The pedestrian was pronounced dead at the scene and the BMW driver was not injured, according to reports. Police were investigating the crash and did not yet know the cause. The driver fully cooperated with police and did not leave the scene of the accident.
Teen Drivers Involved in Accidents
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, IIHS, teen drivers are involved in more accidents that other age groups. The rate for fatal crashes for teens aged 16 to 19 is about three times higher than for older drivers. This may be due to a number of factors including that teen drivers are less experienced than other drivers and they may be more susceptible to distracted driving such as texting while behind the wheel.
Teens in California are subject to a provisional driver’s license if they are under the age of 18 years old. A provisional license means that they must adhere to some restrictions. The California Department of Motor Vehicles states requires teen drivers under the age of 18 to be accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian or other driver over the age of 25 for the first year of the license whenever they carry passengers who are aged 20 or younger and anytime they drive between the hours of 11 PM and 5 AM.
Also, it is illegal for teens to use any type of electronic device while driving. This includes the use of cell phones, GPS devices and other devices. The restriction does not allow the use of cell phones even in any mode including hands-free. If a teen is found to be in violation, he or she will receive a ticket, fine, and points on his or her license. If a teen driver receives two or more points within a period of a year, the license will be suspended for 30 days.
Improving Teen Driving
Teens and their parents must be responsible for ensuring the safety of the student driver. In fact, a parent will be held liable if their teen causes an accident. The California DMV provides a parent and teen training guide that will help parents ensure that their child is driving responsibly. In addition, a parent-teen contract is a useful tool that allows parents to hold their child accountable for safe driving. Teens pledge not to drink and drive, text while driving, or drive aggressively, for example. This information can be found on the DMV website.
If you are involved in an accident with a teen driver it is important to follow the same basic guidelines as for any other collision. Contact the police, seek medical attention and stay at the scene until police arrive. If you were seriously hurt, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries and other damages such as lost wages and pain and suffering. Contact the experienced legal team at the Law Office of Patrick G. Shea to discuss the details of your accident today.